Eight rounds for 2017 ERC


The 2017 FIA European Rally Championship will be contested over eight events from April to October, the meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Vienna today has confirmed.

Structured in response to feedback from drivers and teams who were keen to cap their number of competitive outings at between six and eight events, the ERC calendar features four rallies on asphalt and four on gravel for the perfect balance of surfaces.

Kicking off with the Azores Airlines Rally from 30 March-1 April, the season concludes on Rally Liepāja in Latvia from 6-8 October.  In between there will be visits to Spain for Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés, to Greece for the legendary Acropolis Rally, to Cyprus for the mixed-surface Cyprus Rally, to Poland for Rally Rzeszow, to Czech Republic for Barum Czech Rally Zlín and to Italy for Rally di Roma Capitale, an ERC newcomer for 2017. As a further cost-cutting measure, drivers will count their best six scores only.

FIA European Rally Championship calendar 2017
30 March-1 April: Azores Airlines Rallye (Portugal, gravel) ERC Junior
4-6 May: Rally Islas Canarias El Corte Inglés (Spain, asphalt) ERC Junior
2-4 June: Acropolis Rally (Greece, gravel)
16-18 June: Cyprus Rally (Cyprus, asphalt and gravel)
3-5 August: Rally Rzeszow (Poland, asphalt) ERC Junior
25-27 August: Barum Czech Rally Zlín (Czech Republic, asphalt) ERC Junior
15-17 September: Rally di Roma Capitale (Italy, asphalt) ERC Junior
6-8 October: Rally Liepāja (Latvia, gravel) ERC Junior

Fot. Marcin Kaliszka